Lassiter Students Named Merit Semifinalists

They were among the 55 students reaching the next round in the national scholarship program.

Five students from Lassiter High School have reached the semifinal stage of the National Merit Scholarship program. 

They are among 55 students from the Cobb County School District and nearly 16,000 nationwide still eligible for finalist status, which includes a $2,500 scholarship. 

The Lassiter students are: 

  • Brian M. Cohn
  • Anna Gwaltney
  • Bailey E. Johnson
  • James C. Rowe
  • Ryan A. Smith

The number of semifinalists named in each state is in proportion to its percentage of the national total of high school graduating seniors and is based on performance on the 2012 Preliminary SAT (PSAT).

To become a finalist, the semifinalist and his/her high school must submit a detailed scholarship application in which they provide information about the semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, and honors and awards received. 

For more information, contact the National Merit Scholarship website. 

Another Lassiter student, Adia Conley, has been named a semifinalist in the National Achievement Scholarship Program, which is associated with NMS and includes 1,600 senior African-American semifinalists nationwide. 


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »