.

New 'Twilight' Movie Love Scene Inappropriate?

A scene of Edward and Bella in bed, naked, in the upcoming "Twilight Saga" movie "Breaking Dawn: Part 1" has one Northeast Cobb mother concerned.

My daughter Melissa, 13, is obsessed with the Twilight Saga. She has every book. She has seen every movie. She even has life-size cardboard figures of Edward and Bella in her room.

Die-hard Twilight fans are already talking about the movie Breaking Dawn: Part 1, which comes out Nov. 18. I'm not a fan, but I am reminded about the upcoming movie on a regular basis, thanks to Melissa. I overheard Melissa and her girlfriends talking about the movie. Edward and Bella have a wedding, followed by consummating the marriage.

Actually, the girls did not say "consummating the marriage." They said, "naked in bed together having sex," followed by squeals and giggles.

Before I vent, let me say that I am happy Edward and Bella wait until after marriage to have sex. This is a very good message for our kids.

But I do not like the idea of a kids movie even suggesting sex. The Twilight series, whether it was meant to be or not, is popular with teens. I don't think showing Edward and Bella in bed together is appropriate or even necessary. Married people do plenty of other things together. Show Edward and Bella doing the dishes together, or decorating their marital home.

I'm leaning toward not allowing Melissa to watch the movie.

How do other moms feel about the movie? Will you allow your kids to watch Breaking Dawn: Part 1?

Kim C.

Moms Vent appears each week on Sunday. Do you have an issue or topic that you'd like to vent about? E-mail it to julia.harris@patch.com and it will appear in the next Moms Vent.

Jamie February 20, 2011 at 03:44 PM
Dear Kim, If you allowed your 13 year old daughter to read the book Breaking Dawn, then the movie will be nothing. The book is a lot more graphic than the movie is going to be. I am surprised they were able to make the movie PG-13 when the book is clearly R rated. I am afraid the damage is already done if she read the book. The movie is going to be very tasteful in comparison. If I were you, I would see the movie first and then decide whether or not you want your daughter to see it.
Pat February 20, 2011 at 04:14 PM
Kid's movie? Where did that misconception come from? Maybe the first Twilight book was written with young adults in mind, but that changed with the following books. They were no longer books for young adults. I certainly don't put a 13 year old in the young adult catagory, anyway. They are books about a girl in her late teens falling in love with a mature man who is a vampire. To fully understand the Twilight books, you have to have some life experiences. They are beautifully written and a great love story. I hope they don't change a thing for Breaking Dawn.
Kate February 20, 2011 at 05:33 PM
In my opinion you would be better served to teach your teenage daughter about abstinence; she already knows about sex. I think the fact that Bella and Edward are married, should prove to be a positive example for young girls. It is unrealistic to think that sex isn't a natural part of married life and in my opinion you would be better off not to shelter your child from this reality. This is a love story and as one reader has already pointed out, the books are far worse and you approved of her reading them. Enough said!
Perla February 20, 2011 at 05:46 PM
Dear kim: I think that there it´s not going to be a lot of showing there parts in the sex scene of breaking dawn, because i think that they know that there are litte children that watch the movie´s.She is 13 i think that she know´s about what sex is, and i think that´s ok that edward and bella had waited to be married to have sex, that´s show´s girls that they don´t need to have sex untill getting married. Well this is my messing hope you can understand what me and other mom´s think about it.
christie February 20, 2011 at 05:48 PM
if you have ever read the books than u know that a little love scene in the movie is nothing to be worried about. Did u read the books before you let her read them? If nothing else is learned from this by your daughter maybe she will learn that true love is worth waiting and fighting for like Edward does for Bella.
claire hampson February 20, 2011 at 07:13 PM
A lot of people may think the same as you kim, i am a huge no1 fan of the twilight saga and i am 1 out of millions who is looking forward to it, there is not going to be a lot of sex but the story of breaking dawn is centered around bella becoming a vampire and a mum so to become a mum you have to have sex as you know and as other people has pointed out the books are a whole lot worst coz it goes into detail, also because it is a pg13 they will not put too much detail into the film, so dont spoil it for the millions who have to wait a year to watch the 1st part and then another year to watch the 2nd part, why dont you watch it before your daughter and then decide if its appropriate
Sugar February 20, 2011 at 07:51 PM
Dear Kim, There Isn't alot of those scenes in Breaking Dawn. In fact, it does not even go into detail about it. If they put the rating as PG-13, then it will be meant for 13+. That picture is probably the most revealing picture in the book. And about waiting for marriage thing, I bet a whole lot of you didn't wait either. And yes, these books are for young adults, and yes i'm a big fan of the books/movie and I have read Breaking Dawn, there is nothing to be worried about. Kids are gonna experiment, and there is nothing you can do about it. Sometimes I think parents like you, search for something to complain about. TEENS WILL BE TEENS!
Carol Lillie February 20, 2011 at 08:08 PM
I don't think Breaking Dawn is a suitable read for under 16's, it is very graphic and pulls no punches, but is a great read. The film makers have a very difficult job in balancing the need too stay true to the books for fans such as me and making it suitable for young teens. The beauty of Twilight is that it transcends age groups and has to take this into consideration. I'm bemused by you being worried about the bed scene but were obviously unconcerned about the violence that runs through all the films. Sex is part of life, all the films have taught celebacy until marriage is the road to happiness, quite a good moral I think, however, if after marraige it's just washing dishes then whats the point? ~I have been married for 33 years and dish washing is very low on my list of marital activities!!!
kelly February 20, 2011 at 08:33 PM
Dear Kim, Yes I will allow my 14 year old daughter to see the movie. If you have read the books, then you will know this scene is a huge part of this story. All of the books and movies have suggested that this point will come. The whole story is based around her unusual pull toward this georgous young man. I don't think that the story would be very good if after all this time of yearning they end the beautiful wedding with them doing the dishes or any other household chore. After all its fantasy. Stephanie and the directors have done everything they can to make sure that the movies are suitable for all ages. I think stateing that the scene will be inappropriate before ever seeing the film ludicris. You can see worse than this on the cover of magazines.
Marlene Mitchell February 20, 2011 at 10:43 PM
Kim, Many have said it....sex is a part of life. The stork didn't bring your daughter to you and just drop her on your door step. Don't make it more than it is....if you have to say anything just praise Bella and Edward's decision to wait for their honeymoon and don't beat it into the ground. Bringing it up once, maybe twice is enough...you don't have to hit her over the head for her to realize that after their FIRST time she became pregnant. I have read all the Twilight books and I am a mother of both a son and a daughter and a grandmother of a little boy. I was a Brownie leader and a cub scout den mother so I have seen all sorts of parental reactions to things and how well their kids reacted to their parents....you need to take a breath. JMNSHO
girliemomma February 21, 2011 at 04:35 AM
I have heard the sex scenes will be very similar to what was filmed in "Remember Me". Watch this one to decide if it is too much...but bear in mind, these kids have been exposed to sooooo much more than we did at our age. If they haven't seen, they have heard about it. It might be uncomfortable for both of you but this is one time I think I would tell her you are concerned that this image is too much. You know she has read about it, but has she read the fanfiction? If she is reading fanfiction, the movie will be tamer.
issy February 21, 2011 at 05:23 AM
ummm overreacting i mean in the book that have sex the book is menat for over 13 year oldds kids these days are exposed to alot more then what is suposedly going to be in breaking dawn
Chantal Van Niekerk February 21, 2011 at 02:18 PM
Personnally I will be watching the movie before allow my children to watch it. I am fan and so are my daughters, although i have not let them read Breaking Dawn. I feel it is to complex for them to understand.
Kim Carlton February 21, 2011 at 02:58 PM
Hi everyone, Thanks for your feedback. @Jamie - I didn't read the book. I've taken a look since your comment, and yep, it's more than I wanted Melissa to be exposed to. I had thought the books were along the same vein as Harry Potter. @Pat - sorry, but a book series that sells key chains, "Team Edward" buttons and pillows with screen printing of characters are geared toward kids. Really, what adult is going to buy these items? The promotion of Twilight Saga is not that different than Harry Potter. My mistake as a parent was not reading every book before Melissa. @Kate and Perla - I agree with everything that you say. I am a firm believer in sex education, and abstinence. Her dad and I talked last night that this is a great opportunity to reinforce waiting until marriage. @Claire - I plan to watch the movie first. As many of you stated, Melissa read the book which I've now glanced over, and I guess the only thing left to do is use it as an opportunity to educate further about waiting until marriage. @ Sugar - I'm not a mom looking for something to complain about. I don't want my teen exposed to soft porn, which is what I'm worried this movie may contain. Teens may experiment sexually, but it is not okay for them to be encouraged or exposed to sexually mature material. When you have celebrities or fictional characters engaging in such acts then kids think it's cool or acceptable. It's not.
Kim Carlton February 21, 2011 at 03:09 PM
@ Carol - The violence is another issue. @ Kelly - You have a good point. Our kids probably see far worse in music videos. I agree that in the course of the story, this was bound to happen, but my gripe is how much has to be shown or described when the author knows teens read it? We all know what happens during the honeymoon. Do we need to flaunt it? @ Marlene - Good advice. I'll take it. @ girliemomma - when I was a teen my mother refused to let me watch the movie Grease. I cried and cried because my girlfriends had seen it. When I saw it later, I thought, "my God, what's the big deal?" You're right, kids are exposed to much more than we were as kids. I'm not trying to be overly protective, but I worry about the de-sensitizing of our kids to both sex and violence. @ Chantal - Good call. I should've thought to read the books before allowing Melissa. I'd expect a vampire book by Ann Rice to be racy, but certainly not a book geared toward teens and young adults.
Melissa Jordan February 21, 2011 at 05:16 PM
The scene with Edward and Bella in bed together is not a big deal. SO WHAT!!!!! If parents are letting their child use the internet, watch television late night, thats a problem. Their kids are watching and learning way more than they think. Alot of movies and television shows has sex scenes now a days, whether childern look at it or not. If that one scene is such a big deal, well people should forbid their kids to watch tv,listen to music, use internet, even take them out of public school(if the child attends public school). You know what Trojan has a commercial about vibrators, and no one is commenting on that!!!!!!!!!
Melissa Jordan February 21, 2011 at 05:26 PM
I totally agree with you! As i stated before these parents on here should stop letting their childern look at tv, look at movies,use the internet, hell even take them out of public school if the secene with Edward and Bella is A BIG DEAL!! Because the few things i just named has already exposed them to things like that or worst.
James February 21, 2011 at 06:28 PM
The director has specifically said that the photos he has released are deliberately misleading. And so it appears the scenes will be less racy than the photos suggest they could be. The first Twilight trailer had a scene of Bella and Edward kissing in bed, that left me concerned, but which wasn't in the film at all. I wouldn't worry too much. They know who their fans are.
Julia Harris February 21, 2011 at 08:08 PM
The marketing for the new movie is misleading, according to my research. I don't think the love scene will be "too mature." I agree with James - creators know who their fans are. Melissa Jordan brought up a great point - our kids are using the Internet which exposes them to tons of adult material. I think 'Twilight' has a positive message about love, romance and sex. It could even be used as an example for abstinence until marriage. Parents should take advantage of its popularity to send that message loud and clear.
Laurel March 09, 2011 at 12:32 AM
I personally think that teenagers have the right to know about sex these days. They should not be "protected" from viewing sex scenes in movies. They should have a chance to understand everything about sex. But Twilights message about marital sex is all fine in my eyes. And the story teaches young girls everywhere that if you love someone that much, you are allowed to express those feelings. In my opinion this movie is not dirty or pornography; it's just a Twilight fictional movie about young love. I will of course be attending this movie with my daughters.
Mommy King August 07, 2011 at 03:35 AM
This mother didn't read the book, period. smh! Your daughter not only knows about sex, but how Bella felt while experiencing it, more than once. The movie, obviously, won't be nearly as graphic, just like the other movies, compared to the book. Hopefully, this mother has realized she might want to take the time to read what her 13 yr old is reading, before commenting on a website.
anna October 22, 2011 at 04:28 PM
It wasn't too long ago that I was a teen (I'm 24) and I want to thank this mother for being concerned about what her daughter watches. If there were more moms like that, we might have a few less promiscuous teens out there. Yes I knew about sex when I was a teen but it was from information my parents talked to me about, not from trash on the tv. If an inappropriate scene came on, the tv was turned off. Movies were investigated before I was allowed to see them (so happy we have kidsinmind.com now). And just because I'm an adult now, does not mean I want to (or should) watch other people having sex. As a teacher now, I'm shocked and saddened by how innocent minds of 9 year olds have already been corrupted by what their parents let them watch. As far as a 13 year old being exposed to sex scenes, that is just sad. It's no wonder we have so many pregnant teens. They've become desensitized and premarital sex is so widely accepted. Sex is something that belongs between a husband and a wife and a 13 year old is certainly not ready for that whether they've been "exposed" to it or not. So keep on Kim C. Unless this movie is tastefully made (where consummation is implied but not demonstrated) I won't be going to see it either.
crystal November 08, 2011 at 01:22 AM
look..i maybe young, and i dont have children, im only 17; however, its clear that you are all missing the point!, your daughter already knows about sex, and when i was her age...they knew more than just the subject, movies isnt what is influencing these girls anymore, its they're environment, you have to teach them and be there for them..trust me...you put to much "lock down" or try to control they're every move, they'll just become more mischevious...its best to educate the young girls in the consequences of sex...and btw, the whole marriage thing does not matter...its 2011 lady...marraige isnt as sacred as it once was.. the entire view on gender identity is changing..and that includes having to be married before engaging in sexual activity...i just think you have to educate about contraceptives and the dangers in engaging in sexual activity at a young age.. i hope you understand... again im not a mom but i was her age only 4 years ago -_-
Annabell November 09, 2011 at 06:29 PM
Hey Kim!!! I am 14 and yes I love twilight, but after the first three it does get really sexual. I read some of the comments and the whole thing that this book was not wrote for kids is just "whatever" it may not have been wrote for kids, but that is the general audience. I am on your side I think that if there is going to be a sex scene in a movie it should be R rated. I am not going to see the next Twilight and if I ever change my mond about that it will be at home so I can skip the sex scene. Thank you for telling the truth about the next twilight! It is not right for a PG-13 movie to have sex in it!!!! Annabell
jm February 24, 2012 at 04:21 AM
It is so frustrating to see parents so focused on the sex part of the movie. I find the actual message of the movies are far more concerning then the actual sex. Bella is a terrible role model, she has absolutely very little personality and no ambitions in life and her life revolves around abusive and very creepy relationships. Is this something you want your child to aspire to be like? And Edward creepy, obsessive and controlling stalker who gets the girl. I would like my child to call the cops if they have an abusive stalker not marry them and sleep with them. They should be rated R. But anyway if you still are going to allow your child to watch this perhaps talk with them about the differences between reality and fantasy.
Jill March 01, 2012 at 11:49 PM
She's 13 she's not dumb. Chances are her friends are having sex

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »